Background Information

The Idea of the "Space Elevator"

Concept of Space Elevator

The fundamental idea of the “space elevator” goes back to 1895, when the scientist Konstantin Tsiolkovsky considered building a tower from the surface of the Earth and reaching into the geostationary orbit. The Artsutanov paper – 1960 – proposed a way to build a tensile structure to the geostationary orbit.

The aim was and still is, among other objectives, to deliver payload – satellites, astronauts or other equipment – to space in an economically viable way. This idea could be an alternative solution to the expensive use of rockets.

The actual concept of the space elevator system includes a tether reaching from the surface of the Earth to the geostationary orbit. To keep the tether taut by means of gravitational and rotational forces, the center of mass of the space elevator has to be kept above this orbit. A climber is attached to the tether, which carries the payload up to the space station or to the satellite. The energy supply is planned to be realized by “power beaming” (such as laser), as well as using solar cells.

European Space Elevator Challenge

The challenge is to establish a climber structure in compliance with predetermined requirements (see General Rules and Requirements), keeping in mind the idea of a real space elevator.

Our focus is on:

The objectives of European Space Elevator Challenge are,

These aims are considered as long-term goals and cannot be accomplished with one competition. Hence, our goal is to organize the European Space Elevator Challenge annually.

The Organizers

The European Space Elevator Challenge is organized by WARR e.V., the Scientific Workgroup for Rocketry and Spaceflight at Technical University of Munich (TUM). It is directly affiliated with the Institute of Astronautics (lrt).

WARR was founded in 1962 and is one of the oldest scientific workgroups of TUM. The aim of WARR is to provide its members with the opportunity to accomplish scientific work and gain experience in practical projects as an addition to their studies. Its over 100 student members are organized in multiple groups, working on different topics such as hybrid rocket engines, cubesats, space elevators and the Hyperloop.

EUSPEC 2016 Teaser

Sponsors and Partners

Vestner hochhinaus Linde Aliens Bergsport Tendon Gth & Wolf Teijin Aramid Department of Mechanical Engineering - Technical University of Munich Wiese Foto + Film Deutsche Gesellschaft fr Luft- und Raumfahrt BESL EuroSpaceward

Hintergrundinformationen

Die Idee des Weltraumaufzugs

Concept of Space Elevator

Die Grundlegende Idee des „Space Elevator“ geht zurück bis zum Jahre 1895, als der Wissenschaftler Konstantin Tsiolkovsky in Betracht zog, einen Turm von der Erdoberfläche bis hoch zum geostationären Orbit des Weltalls zu bauen. Der Artsutanov-Artikel aus dem Jahr 1960 beabsichtigte eine Seilstruktur bis zum geostationären Orbit zu spannen.

Das Hauptziel war und ist es immer noch, Nutzlasten - Satelliten, Astronauten oder andere Gegenstände - günstig, sicher und umweltfreundlich ins Weltall zu befördern. Die Idee könnte eine Alternative zum teuren Einsatz von Raketen sein.

Das aktuelle Konzept des Weltraumaufzugs basiert auf einem Seil, das von der Erdoberfläche bis zum geostationären Orbit reicht. Um das Seil im Hinblick auf Gravitations- und Rotationskräfte gespannt zu halten, muss das Zentrum der Masse des Weltraumaufzugs über diesem Orbit gehalten werden. Am Seil ist ein Aufzug befestigt, der die Nutzlast ins All befördert. Die Energieversorgung soll mit Techniken wie dem „Power Beaming“ erfolgen (bspw. mit einem Laser von der Erdoberfläche aus). Ebenso sollen Solarzellen zum Einsatz kommen.

European Space Elevator Challenge

Die Aufgabe ist es, einen Climber unter vorgegeben Anforderungen zu erschaffen (siehe auch das Regelwerk). Dabei sollen die Anforderungen an einen echten Weltraumaufzug im Auge behalten werden.

Unser Fokus liegt auf:

Die Ziele der European Space Elevator Challenge sind es,

Diese Ziele sind als Langzeitziele zu betrachten und können nicht mit nur einem Wettbewerb erfüllt werden. Deshalb ist es unser Anliegen die European Space Elevator Challenge jährlich stattfinden zu lassen.

Die Organisatoren

Die European Space Elevator Challenge wird organisiert von WARR e.V, der Wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgemeinschaft für Raketentechnik und Raumfahrt der Technischen Universität München (TUM). Sie ist dem Lehrstuhl für Raumfahrttechnik (lrt) angegliedert.

Die WARR wurde 1962 gegründet und ist eine der ältesten wissenschaftlichen Arbeitsgemeinschaften der TUM. Das Ziel der WARR ist es, ihren Mitgliedern die Möglichkeit zu geben, neben ihrem Studium wissenschaftlich zu arbeiten und Erfahrung in praktischen Projekten zu sammeln. Die über 100 Mitglieder sind in mehreren Gruppen organisiert, die an verschiedenen Themen wie Hybridtriebwerken, Cubesats, dem Weltraumaufzug und dem Hyperloop arbeiten.

EUSPEC 2016 Teaser

Sponsoren und Partner

Vestner hochhinaus Linde Aliens Bergsport Tendon Güth & Wolf Teijin Aramid Fakultät für Maschinenwesen - Technische Universität München Wiese Foto + Film Deutsche Gesellschaft für Luft- und Raumfahrt BESL EuroSpaceward